Revlon Colorstay Foundation (with SoftFlex™): a general review.

The Revlon ColorStay Foundation (formally known as Revlon ColorStay™ Makeup with SoftFlex™), in my opinion, is a tried and true product. It is one of the few foundations that I have found to work for my skin type (oily) and I find it to have a flawless, smooth and natural-looking finish – not exactly matte but not oily dewy either. I would consider it a medium-to-full coverage type of foundation and the nice thing about it is that the product itself comes in two different formulations, according to skin type: Normal/Dry Skin (with SPF 15) and Combination/Oily Skin (with SPF 6). I use the latter one, of course, but I have heard many good things from friends about the Normal/Dry Skin formula.

It is available in 20 different colors, ranging from Ivory (the lightest) to Mocha (the darkest). Having extremely fair skin, myself, I use the first two colors in the spectrum, Ivory and Buff. I find that mixing the two colors together provides me with the perfect shade for my skin color. Since my skin gets oily quite fast, I set the foundation with powder which helps maintain the natural flawless look longer throughout the day.

I have heard a lot of people compare Revlon’s ColorStay Foundation to MAC’s Studio Fix Fluid Foundation, saying that it is just as good, if not better, in texture and coverage. They are both available with SPF. Having tried both foundations myself, I find they both offer decent coverage but, personally, I prefer Revlon ColorStay because it feels less thick and heavy on my face and it blends into the skin with more ease. It also comes off faster with a makeup cleanser/remover.

Has anyone else tried this type of foundation? What are your thoughts on it? Do you find Revlon’s ColorStay Foundation comparable to MAC’s Studio Fix Fluid? Feel free to leave a comment below, I’d love to hear from you!

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Other. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

