Get a little lippy.

Hello again my fellow beauty junkies.

So, for this post, I have decided to share with you my most preferred brands of makeup when it comes to lipstick. Every beauty junkie needs to get a little lippy from time to time – in a good way, of course. Without further ado, and in no particular order, here are the brands I turn to when I want to get lippy:

Maybelline:
Ever since I started wearing makeup, I’ve been using Maybelline lipsticks.  My favorite line of Maybelline lipsticks are the Moisture Extreme lipsticks by Maybelline New York. There’s just something about the way these lipsticks glide on (so smoothly) that make them some of my all time favorites when it comes to getting lippy. I also love that subtle sheen to the colors that makes lips look that much more luscious and juicy. Also, they are available in a wide variety of colors and their moisturizing properties are great for people who suffer from constantly dry lips (like me.) Last, but certainly not least, they are totally wallet and budget-friendly!

Revlon:
Well, of course I was going to mention Revlon in this post at some point. How can I not? I’m obsessed with this makeup brand. My favorite lines of Revlon lipsticks are the Revlon Matte lipsticks, Revlon Colorburst lipsticks and the Revlon Colorstay Soft & Smooth Lipcolor lipsticks. The Revlon Matte lipsticks are great for those that like lipsticks with a matte finish…need I say more? They apply very nicely, are decently pigmented and can last on the lips for hours if there is not a lot of eating or drinking involved. The Revlon Colorburst lipsticks are very similar to the Revlon Matte lipsticks in texture but they have a slightly creamy finish and are a little more pigmented. The Revlon Colorstay Soft & Smooth possess all the qualities of the two former types of lipsticks and they last a little longer on the lips – so that’s a great plus. Again, this is a brand of makeup that is also wallet-friendly and convenient for budget-shoppers.

Rimmel London:
What can I say? I’m a sucker for drugstore brands. Rimmel has also been one of those makeup brands that I started off with in my teenage years of trying to beautify myself. It has been there for me through thick and thin. My favorite line of Rimmel London lipsticks is the Lasting Finish Intense Wear Lipsticks and lemme tell ya, these lipsticks do exactly what their title says: they go on intensely and last for hours. Very well pigmented with a nice semi-matte finish, these are great lipsticks for nightlife lovers that like to party a lot without having their lipstick disappear within the first hour.

MAC:
Don’t worry, I didn’t forget the Holy Grail of lipstick brands, I just didn’t want to start with the obvious. I mean, one of the first brands that people refer to when it comes to makeup is MAC – and for good reason – but I also wanted to share my thoughts with you on the other brands out there. Other than the blushers and eyeshadows, the lipsticks are my favorite products from MAC. Their consistency, their texture and their application is just….sublime. Even though my lips tend to get dry easily, my favorite line of MAC lipsticks are those with the Matte Finish because they are so richly pigmented that one gentle swipe of them on the lips is usually enough to get lippy in a really obvious way. While MAC lipsticks may not be your wallet’s best friend if you are on a budget, buying one or two of them once in a while won’t create such a huge dent.

Michael Todd:
I am not sure if this brand of makeup is available in the United Arab Emirates because I purchased some of its lipsticks on the internet. I know the brand is available in the US and the UK but that’s about it. If it is available anywhere else, please do let me know! My favorite line of lipsticks from Michael Todd is its Creme Lipsticks – they’re long-lasting, they apply very nicely and smoothly and they’re richly pigmented. Their pricing is just a bit more expensive than that of MAC’s lipsticks but with quality that is good enough to be a worthy rival, if you’re the kind of gal that doesn’t mind splurging on her makeup purchases, you won’t be sorry you put your bucks on Michael Todd’s Creme Lipsticks.

NYX:
One of my favorite drugstore makeup brands, NYX has been faithful to me for a long time and is purely awesome in so many ways. My favorite lines of NYX lipsticks are the Round Lipsticks and the Matte Lipsticks. The NYX Round lipsticks are wonderfully pigmented with just the right amount of moisture and creaminess to them (not too creamy, not too dry) and deliver a very nice, smooth and half matte/half velvety finish…if that even makes sense. I find them to be great for both daily casual and occasional evening wear. The NYX Matte lipsticks apply smoothly with a finish that is just as they are described. Very richly and intensely pigmented, these lipsticks are for you gals that like to be flashy when they wanna get lippy. Go ahead and add some vibrant color to your lippiness with these babies.

So, what are your favorite brands and types of lipsticks? Feel free to let me in on how you like to get lippy, I’d love to hear from you 😉

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Other. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

